ISPConfig to manage a vps network for shared hosting?

Discussion in 'General' started by Ronald01990, Dec 5, 2014.

1. Ronald01990

Ronald01990 New Member

With our company we develop websites for other companies. Now that this business is growing bigger, it would be great if we can offer our customers a shared hosting package of our own rather than advising a shared hosting from a third party.

I have a few virtual private CentOS servers at TransIP (in case you know this company), but I have no experience with the setup I want. At TransIP you can group multiple servers in a private network, so you can exhange data between them, set up a load balancing network etc. I want a private network of VPSes: a master server (which hosts my company's website among with some other stuff like a Git server, mail server for my company etc.) and multiple "child" servers for the shared hosting for our customers.

I know how to setup servers with Apache, PHP, PostFix, MySQL etc. What I don't know is how to manage all this for multiple servers in one network at the same time.

What I am looking for is one server management tool on the master server that can manage all "child" servers (with things like DNS management and starting/stopping servers and processes), hosting accounts and domain settings for all websites on the child servers. If that is not possible, I would settle with the same management tool on each child server.

I have searched for some server management tools and came across ISPConfig. I think this is what I'm looking for, but I am not quite sure. Can you please tell me if ISPConfig is the right software for me to use?

Thanks in advance for your help!

2. till

till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer