Linux 12.04 File Server & Software RAID

Discussion in 'Installation/Configuration' started by danhansen@denmark, Aug 18, 2014.

1. danhansen@denmark

danhansen@denmark Member HowtoForge Supporter

Hi Friends,

I've been fiddling with Linux for almost 2 years, but I've never set up an Ubuntu File Server. I want to have a RAID made of 2 harddrives and the system running on a SSD. I thought to myself, that keeping the system on a disk (bootdisk) and the RAID for itself, should make things a little easier to set up.
    I've been reading and I learned that it's posible to make e.g. a RAID 1 using to harddrives only. Then to setup e.g. 10% of each disk for the file system and then the rest of both drives for the rest. But, I'm asking all of you if it isn't a god idea to keep the RAID area on two disk for the "file's/data" and then the 12.04 OS on this disk for itself!?
    I'm not sure which RAID I will be running, but I think I want a "mirror" so that if one disk fails, the files will be accesible while getting a new disk (from my drawer:) and then I just have to plug in a new disk and everything goes on like before...peeewie ;)

Please help me get started :eek:

2. srijan

srijan New Member HowtoForge Supporter

You can use RAID 1 with 2 hardisks. Please refer the tutorial.

3. sjau

sjau Local Meanie Moderator

Why not run completely raid1? because you only get half of the diskspace from both disks?

4. danhansen@denmark

Hi srijan,

Thanks. I'll take a look.

Hi sjau,

I want security, never mind the space ;)

5. sjau

sjau Local Meanie Moderator

raid doesn't provide security... just redundancy...

I run 3x 4TB disks in Raid1.... so I only have 4 TB available but 2 drives can fail and it still works :)

6. danhansen@denmark

Hi Sjau,