Linux Server

Discussion in 'Linux Beginners' started by Ron Humphrey, Jan 20, 2022.

1. Ron Humphrey

Ron Humphrey New Member

I am new to Linux and currently taking a class to learn more. One of the assignments is to come to this forum and ask a question. I manage a network with 6 servers and about 90 desktops/laptops all windows based. I am curious if anyone here has set up a Linux server in a Windows AD domain and what flavor did you use and what purpose is the server used for? I am thinking about a DNS server in the environment I manage. Any input would be helpful.

2. Th0m

Th0m ISPConfig Developer Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

3. Ron Humphrey

Ron Humphrey New Member

I currently have two DNS servers on the network. A Server 2012 box and a Server 2019 box. At some point I want to retire the Server 2012 box and still want to have two DNS servers. Looks like Pi-hole wants to be the only DNS server to function as an add blocker.

4. Th0m

Th0m ISPConfig Developer Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

Yes, that's correct.

5. Taleman

Taleman Well-Known Member HowtoForge Supporter

I find that rather annoying. Could you please ask the teacher to stop giving that assignment? Or ask him / her why this assignment?
    My signature has link to DNS setup, two servers with ISPConfig.

Ron Humphrey likes this.
  6. Jesse Norell

Jesse Norell ISPConfig Developer Staff Member ISPConfig Developer