Mail not working

Discussion in 'Installation/Configuration' started by Roadracer, Dec 27, 2005.

1. Roadracer

Roadracer New Member

Not sure what is happening. Any help would be appriciated. I have installed phpBB2 on my site and just to test the email system, I tried to send something via the website. I didn't get any mail. Here is some of the maillog.

Not sure if its the server or my error in setting up phpBB. Sorry if this turns out to my my error in setting up phpBB.

Just added the webmail pkg. to test that, install worked, but can't log into it.

Last edited: Dec 27, 2005
  2. ZyanKLee

ZyanKLee New Member

has it been this message:
    there seems to be a problem with the domain of your server, maybe the dns-settings were recently changed. perhaps the mailserver where your email went to could not look up the domain and therefore didn't accept the mail ?

but I am only a little noob, falko or till might know more about this case

3. till

till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

I gues server.roadracers.org is the hostname of your ISPConfig server? ZyanKLee is right, the domain server.roadracers.org does not exits in DNS. Please create an A or CName record for server.roadracers.org in the authoritive nameserver for the domain roadracers.org pointing to your server.

4. Roadracer

Roadracer New Member

Is there a way to change the mail to point to another server? I haven't moved roadracers.org onto the server until I know everything works. I do have defendersguild.org running on the server and all the DNS is pointing to the right spot.

Otherwise I will rebuild the server again with the right information.

5. till

You dont have to rebuild the server. Just set the hostname of the server to the other domain. Which linux distribution do you use?

6. Roadracer

Roadracer New Member

Fedora Core 4

7. falko

falko Super Moderator Howtoforge Staff