Multi server AND mirror setup

Discussion in 'General' started by sargue, May 15, 2015.

1. sargue

sargue New Member

Hello,
    I am quite new to ISPConfig and I have been asked to deploy a quite particular ISPConfig setup. I've been reading howto's and thread's on this forum but I still have some doubts about my particular setup.
    I want a server to act just as the ISPConfig control panel, no sites on there or other services. Then a secondary server to host sites and services, with growing options in mind (third, fourth server... you know). The tricky part comes here: also, I want both those servers to be mirrored. So, a ISPConfig control panel mirror server and a secondary server mirror. The reason is that I have two physical servers with VMWare so I want to install separated the mirrors. This is not intended to be a active-active setup, of course, is fine to just change DNS and recover in case the main servers go down.
    So, I have this:
    • vms01: main ISPConfig master server
    • vms01-mirror: mirror ISPConfig master server
    • vms02: secondary ISPConfig server for site hosting
    • vms02-mirror: a mirror for vms02
    My doubt is about how MySQL replications should be setup, ISPConfig installations, and so on... The best approach I can think about is:
    Not sure of any of below!
    Mysql:
    • MySQL master-master between vms01 and vms01-mirror
    • MySQL master-slave between vms02 and vms02-mirror
    ISPConfig installations:
    • vms01: standard installation, database dbispconfig
    • vms01-mirror: expert installation, local database dbispconfig2, join ispconfig on vms01/dbispconfig
    • vms02: expert installation, local database dbispconfig, join ispconfig on vms01/dbispconfig
    • vms02-mirror: I don't know!
    Thanks a lot!

2. davefrooney

davefrooney Member

Hey Sargue,