Multiple domains & where to search

Discussion in 'General' started by suy, Sep 19, 2005.

1. suy

suy New Member

I have setup suse 9.3 following "The perfect setup for suse 9.3" from Falko.
    Very nice!!! I only had to add zlib and zlib-develop.
    I'm rather new to linux so...

Question: I also setup ISPCONFIG. After 4-5 reinstallations, it works... :)
    1.I've put a website in the /web directory using an ftp program. But, I see there's also a user/web1_xxx/web directory? What's the purpose of it. How can I reach that???
    2.During install I added also an additional ipadress (virtual). Why is it useful?

3. I want to setup more websites, on the same webserver. How? I tried to use "new site" in ispconfig, but I don't know where to look for the place (web) where I can put the php-files in (or html,...)

Thanks!!!!

2. falko

falko Super Moderator Howtoforge Staff

That's the web directory of each user that you create under "User & Email", the user can put personal pages into it. You can then access them in the browser by typing either www.example.com/~web1_xxx or www.example.com/user/web1_xxx

That's just an example on how to add additional IP addresses to one network interface. It's not necessary that you do it.

That depends on which document root you specified during installation. E.g., if you specified /var/www, then the web sites will be under /var/www, e.g. /var/www/web1, /var/www/web2, ... The folder for http documents is then the web folder inside these directories.
    If you create a user under "User & Email" and make him admin of the web site, you can use that user to upload files to the web folder by ftp.

3. suy

suy New Member

woow, that was quick!!!
    well, I try that.. Thanks!!!

Maybe another question about DNS.

The perfect setup inlcudes a dns server too.

I have a little network (1 linux (client), 1 linux (the perfect setup), and a winxp machine...

In the winxp machine, for dns, I have "obtain dns servers from isp".