Newbie here, needs reassuring...

Discussion in 'General' started by CorrosionX, Oct 24, 2005.

1. CorrosionX

CorrosionX New Member

Hi people

I just built my web server using the Perfect Ubuntu 5.10 setup, and I've got some small stuff i want to clarify just to reassure me.

The server will eventually be installed on my office LAN and it will have a static IP and port 80 open. Right now it's at home on a dynamic ip and port 80 closed.

I have done everything in the tutorial and I installed the PhpMyAdmin package also.

I created a couple of test sites on it, and the only one I can access by typing 192.168.1.45 (its local IP) and I get a ISPconfig default index page and nothing else.

The Phpmyadmin asks me for user/password but none of my ISPConfig passwords work.

I plan to bring the server to the office and set up port forwarding 80 to that server. But then what should I do?

I know I'll have to point my domain names to the IP of the nameserver (which I think is gonna be the same server, right?)

Will ISPconfig then know what domain name is requested and show the appropriate site?

Looking forward to being helped, thanks!

P.S.Is there some sort of "Going Live" tutorial for ISPConfig out there?

Last edited: Oct 24, 2005
  2. till

till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

You cannot login with the ISPConfig passwords to phpmyadmin. Use your root mysql username and password as admininistrator account and the passwords / usernames you entered when you created a new database in ISPConfig for the client databases.

Forward your domains to that server.

Its the same if you want to use the nameserver that comes with your ISPConfig setup.

Yes, because the vhosts are name based.

I dont think so.

3. CorrosionX

CorrosionX New Member

Wow quick reply... thanks!

Ok so I guess there's not much more I can do right here so I'll install it at the office and test it from there...