noob question....

Discussion in 'HOWTO-Related Questions' started by ikkem, Feb 26, 2007.

1. ikkem

ikkem Member

I installed the Lamp server on debian sarge my question is how do I launch a website I did some searching online with google/clusty but I could not find any info that I could use....
    thanks in advance....

2. sjau

sjau Local Meanie Moderator

What do you mean exactely?

3. ikkem

ikkem Member

hi....:)
    I wanted to know how to make a webpage visible to the outside world and is it the same situation on a desktop computer
    I am new to linux :eek: ....

4. sjau

Well, have apache installed, create an index.html in /var/www/ and then people can view it when they enter your IP address... you can view it by entering http://localhost or http://127.0.0.1

Next step would be that you use some dyndns service to get yourself a "domain name" or if you have a dedicated IP you can buy your own domain, setup a nameserver and run the domain through your computer.

It just depends on what you want to do...

5. ikkem

ikkem Member

thanks for reacting some things have become more clear now could someone please post a how to or a link to a how to I have not had any success in getting the right information yet....

thanks in advance....

6. falko

falko Super Moderator Howtoforge Staff

Is your server in a local network (behind a router)? Do you have dynamic IP addresses? If so, get a domain name at dyndns.org and make it point to your public IP address. Also tell your router to update that domain whenever your public IP address changes. That way, you can type your dyndns address into your browser to reach your web site.

7. ikkem

ikkem Member

Thanks for the info....:)
    I have a static IPadress at the moment I am trying this on a desktop when it works out I will setup a server I have a old packard bell computer that I can use....

8. falko