PEAR Support with Perfect Setup SuSE 9.3

Discussion in 'Installation/Configuration' started by SidSkiba, Aug 30, 2005.

1. SidSkiba

SidSkiba New Member

Can anyone advise what I need to do to add PEAR to the Perfect Suse Setup? I want to add PHPList and need to have PEAR HTTP_Request installed. Way beyond me as they say is included in PHP5. Yet I get a Bash error when I try to run pear? :(

2. till

till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

Have you installed the pear packege from SuSe?
    What is the exact error message?

3. SidSkiba

SidSkiba New Member

Pear

I log in as root and do (forgive me as I am not a Linux expert yet)

pear install HTTP_Request

I get a bash error saying something like unknown or does not exist.

I assumed that to mean that Pear was not installed. My SuSE setup was done as a minimal graphical setup and then followed the Perfect SuSE 9.3 Setup to add the Apache and PHP components.

I do not know where apt gets the package from but according to Pear site the following may be the case:

When using PHP >= 4.3.0, the PEAR Package Manager is already installed unless one has used the ./configure option --without-pear

So I thought I might try adding the Pear installer with:

lynx -source http://go-pear.org/ | php

It did not work. I got an error saying php was unknown or something like that. I realise today that I have PHP 5 so I should have tried:

lynx -source http://go-pear.org/ | php5

That is about where I got to.

I did not try SuSE Yast2 to add pear (did not think to try). I tried apt-get install pear and it failed. But I did not know the exact message to use.

If I use Yast2 will Pear be compatible with PHP5? SuSe comes with PHP4.

I had used the apt-get install for the PHP packages (per the Perfect Setup) and not sure if that should have added Pear?

Any suggestions would be great.

4. till

If you followed the setup, pear is already installed: