Perfect debian unable to access ISPConfig control panel

Discussion in 'General' started by pannet1, May 26, 2024.

  1. ztk.me

    ztk.me Well-Known Member HowtoForge Supporter

    I am tempted to offer a Big Blue Button session to sort this out. But what would I do, yeah.

    First of all, I'd probably check if apache2ctl -t shows any notices or warnings.
    Make a test request using curl -H https:// 8080 from localhost and form a remote server the same way.
    Set the loglevel to trace in /etc/apache2/apache.conf

    If the ispconfig vhost and conf files in /etc/apache2/sites-enabled
    match against a working setup with that version. And if it overwrites the loglevel.

    If the paths in the files are correct for certificates,
    php config ( though the ispconfig php-cgi is running, maybe it is started by a *wrong* file )
    logging.
    For any interfering vhost configs on that (sub)domain maybe.

    Restart apache2 and check all the logs for any signs of issues.
    Make a request like
    curl -H https:// :8080 again

    restart apache2 with non trace loglevel and look for any signs of issues in the more descriptive
    output.

    Maybe the Listen 8080 part in your apache config is bound to a specific IP like "Listen 127.0.0.1:8080"
    for some reason, which would explain why wget locally works but not for remote.
     
    pannet1 likes this.
  2. pannet1

    pannet1 Member

    I am tempted to offer a Big Blue Button session to sort this out. But what would I do, yeah.
    :cool:

    First of all, I'd probably check if apache2ctl -t shows any notices or warnings.
    >>> apachectl -t

    Code:
    AH00548: NameVirtualHost has no effect and will be removed in the next release /etc/apache2/sites-enabled/000-ispconfig.vhost:7
    Syntax OK
    upload_2024-5-27_19-15-14.png
    >>> if this line does not have any effect then obviously ispconfig control panel does not work, right.

    on the interim, working on the other points you mentioned.
     
  3. ztk.me

    ztk.me Well-Known Member HowtoForge Supporter

    If you have namevirtualhost setting on for your server ips it will get written back using the default template,
    for now you can leave it as it is

    I have that, too =) But I think the website domain adding thing behaves differently if you check namevirtualhost, don't know. I do not use ISPConfig for myself or on a daily basis. I just know some customers where this makes some sense.
    Key feature of ISPConfig is multi-server settings for GUI users.
     
    pannet1 likes this.
  4. till

    till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

    No. As the message mentions, NameVirtualHost has no effect in the Apache version that you use. It was needed in older versions, though. So, if NameVirtualHost is in your config or not does not matter at all and has no influence on how Apache works. Therefore, leave it as it is, this is not related to your problem.
     
    pannet1 likes this.
  5. pannet1

    pannet1 Member

    thanks Till and Christoph together,
    ok, not changing

    upload_2024-5-27_23-37-38.png

    j cant find mpm_itk module in my mods_available directory. researching about it
     
  6. till

    till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

    mpm_itk shall not be installed and is not used by ISPconfig anymore. This is a ifModule setting, means that this is an optional setting for compatibility with very old systems (older than 10 years) and is not active on any recent install. Do not try to install it, it will further damage your setup.
     
    pannet1 likes this.
  7. till

    till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

    What you do here for debugging does not make much sense to me, and it will likely not bring you any further as you look at the wrong things. Back to the original problem:

    wget https://server1.example.in:8080

    Works, so ISPConfig works and also the ispconfig vhost works. You can further validate this by looking into the file that wget downloaded.

    wget https://server1.example.in:8080/

    It does not work, as it connects to the external IP. But from htf_report.txt we know that Apache listens on port 8080 on all interfaces incl. external IP. So, this port gets blocked somewhere outside of your server. Contact Vultr support and tell them that you have a service running with https (TCP) on port 8080 which is connected to the external interface of your VM but is unreachable nonetheless and they shall check how it is blocked by their firewall or other systems in their cloud setup.
     
  8. pannet1

    pannet1 Member

    got it till. thanks
     
  9. pannet1

    pannet1 Member

    upload_2024-5-28_0-17-33.png
    i already did it and got an useless reply, i guess. i will try to rephrase the question again :-(
     
  10. till

    till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

    Try this:

    Code:
    ufw disable
    ufw status
    post the result and then try if you can access ISPConfig.
     
  11. pannet1

    pannet1 Member

    Code:
    root@server1:/etc/apache2/mods-available# ufw disable
    Firewall stopped and disabled on system startup
    root@server1:/etc/apache2/mods-available# ufw status
    Status: inactive
    still same result in the browser
     
  12. till

    till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

    Send them the output of these commands:

    netstat -ntap | grep 8080

    this shows that apache listens on all interfaces. and then send them the firewall status:

    ufw status

    and maybe even iptables list:

    iptables -L
     
  13. till

    till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

    you can also send me and likely also @ztk.me a PM with your real server hostname and external IP, so we can check that too.
     
  14. pannet1

    pannet1 Member

    their reply for this message

    upload_2024-5-28_1-21-39.png
     
  15. pannet1

    pannet1 Member

    is it normal
    Code:
    root@server1:/etc/apache2/mods-available# lsof -i :8080
    COMMAND      PID     USER   FD   TYPE DEVICE SIZE/OFF NODE NAME
    /usr/sbin 232059     root   10u  IPv6 848901      0t0  TCP *:http-alt (LISTEN)
    /usr/sbin 232062 www-data   10u  IPv6 848901      0t0  TCP *:http-alt (LISTEN)
    /usr/sbin 232081 www-data   10u  IPv6 848901      0t0  TCP *:http-alt (LISTEN)
    /usr/sbin 232082 www-data   10u  IPv6 848901      0t0  TCP *:http-alt (LISTEN)
    /usr/sbin 232083 www-data   10u  IPv6 848901      0t0  TCP *:http-alt (LISTEN)
    /usr/sbin 232084 www-data   10u  IPv6 848901      0t0  TCP *:http-alt (LISTEN)
    /usr/sbin 232085 www-data   10u  IPv6 848901      0t0  TCP *:http-alt (LISTEN)
    /usr/sbin 232117 www-data   10u  IPv6 848901      0t0  TCP *:http-alt (LISTEN)
    /usr/sbin 232981 www-data   10u  IPv6 848901      0t0  TCP *:http-alt (LISTEN)
    /usr/sbin 233127 www-data   10u  IPv6 848901      0t0  TCP *:http-alt (LISTEN)
     
  16. pannet1

    pannet1 Member

    This is the final answer which Vultr has to say

    upload_2024-5-28_2-22-35.png
     
  17. till

    till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

    @pannet1 sent me the real hostname and Ip of the server and I'm able to get the ISPConfig login page there using hostname as well as IP. So the server is fine, there must be a problem on your desktop side or a local router or firewall between your desktop and the internet.
     
  18. ztk.me

    ztk.me Well-Known Member HowtoForge Supporter

    I get the ISPConfig login and valid LE cert on port 8080
     
  19. pannet1

    pannet1 Member

    it turned out while trying to set parental controls for my son, i accidentally set security to high in my router. extremely sorry folks :rolleyes:

    upload_2024-5-28_3-19-3.png
     
    Th0m and till like this.
  20. ztk.me

    ztk.me Well-Known Member HowtoForge Supporter

    ahahaha all good man, things like that can happen :) at least you figured and did not start a new install
     
    pannet1 likes this.

Share This Page