PHP MySQL, UPDATE an POST

Discussion in 'Programming/Scripts' started by edge, Aug 9, 2008.

1. edge

edge Active Member Moderator

Anyone here who might have a clue why I can not get this to work (I'm new to PHP)
    Code example one is not working.
    It's getting the variable BedrijfsNaamTMP from a POST of an other page.
    When doing an echo $BedrijfsNaamTMP; it DOES show the value fine.
    When I echo the $strSql, it does also show it correctly.
    Problem is that it's NOT updating the MySQL :)

example 1 - not working
    Code:
    $BedrijfsNaamTMP = $_POST["BedrijfsNaam"];

$strSql = "UPDATE `account_info` SET `BedrijfsNaam` = $BedrijfsNaamTMP WHERE `accountID` = 1";
    $conn->execute($strSql);
    Example two is exactly the same as example one, EXEPT that the variable $BedrijfsNaamTMP is HARD CODED to "test"
    When running this code, all is working fine.
    The echo $strSql; is showing exactly the same string as in example one.

example - 2 working fine
    Code:
    $BedrijfsNaamTMP = "'test'";

$strSql = "UPDATE `account_info` SET `BedrijfsNaam` = $BedrijfsNaamTMP WHERE `accountID` = 1";
    $conn->execute($strSql);
    Anyone here who might know what could be causing this?

2. el-sid

el-sid New Member

hi,

try using single quotes on the $BedrijfsNaamTMP variable as '$BedrijfsNaamTMP' on the sql statement as in

$strSql = "UPDATE account_info SET BedrijfsNaam = '$BedrijfsNaamTMP' WHERE accountID = 1";

Last edited: Aug 10, 2008
  3. edge

Hi el-sid,
    Thank you for your reply.

Your "fix" did not work for me.

I've managed to get it to work, but I needed to change the way the variables were posted.

in the "form" page I was 1st doing the post like this:
    Code:
    <form id="form1" name="form1" method="post" action="?action=save&record=<?php echo "$record"; ?>">
    Note the action part.

After changeing it to
    Code:
    <form id="form1" name="form1" method="post" action="save.php?record=<?php echo "$record"; ?>">