Postfix + Rspamd do not DKIM-sign forwarded messages [solved!]

Discussion in 'Installation/Configuration' started by Gwyneth Llewelyn, Sep 28, 2021.

1. [Edited: I have figured a way to deal with this situation; I've written my own solution below, for the benefit of others who came here from Google]

Hi all,

Please take into account that I'm not an expert in Postfix, and have just started playing around with Rspamd (as the alternative to Amavisd & friends). Therefore, I started with Till's tutorial and moved on from there adding a gazillion new options here and there.

Here's the thing: Amavisd & friends just worked — I didn't really care much about what exactly was configured, it seemed to play nice with Postfix (actually, it didn't, but that's not relevant). But, alas, I'm well aware that Rspamd is the way to go, and it seems so much better already, that the last thing I want to do is to go back...

Anyway, here's the issue I've noticed. As part of the insane configurations I've got, there is one kind that stands out from the rest: providing mail forwarding for many domains (if not all), where the users actually only have mailboxes on Gmail (or similar service; but Gmail is preferred by 90% of them), and configure these to have 'mail aliases' with their domain name, hosted on my server.

Sure, I'm aware that there is a lot of back-and-from traffic using such a configuration, but people much rather prefer to trust Gmail than my own server (and I cannot blame them; I do the same...). However, there is a catch: I'm not getting the messages DKIM-signed when they are forwarded out of my server and into Gmail — and, because I have DKIM enabled to reduce forgery attempts and all sorts of Bad Things, Gmail promptly rejects unsigned messages.