RealPlayer?

Discussion in 'Installation/Configuration' started by fvs, Apr 9, 2006.

1. fvs

fvs New Member

I have a problem trying to install RealPayer linux and I can't play my DVD Totem Movie player says error no plugin? I'm totally new in Fedora Core 5 and need some help.
    Thanks, Frank:eek:

2. sbovisjb1

sbovisjb1 Member HowtoForge Supporter

Did you check that Realplayer has dependincies problems with (its either Xine or Totem) and to fix that you are supposed to move either plugins to another directory. Thats what happens when two completley programs try to borrow plugins. (PS) use the mv command

3. fvs

fvs New Member

I don't know how? Also I get error message that say's;
    "You do not have decoder Installed to handle this file"
    How do I install decoder? Where do I get it? Thanks.:confused: :confused:

4. sbovisjb1

What file format were you trying to open?

5. fvs

fvs New Member

Trying to get RealPayer on the internet to play, On desktop I would like MPlayer to to my DVD video's. Also I Like QuickTime player. I must say I don't care about Totem, I comes on by default.

6. sbovisjb1

RealPlayer: Get rid of Heilix player (uninstall it)
    Quicktime: Use the crossover office application.
    MPlayer: http://home.gagme.com/greg/linux/fc5-tips.php
    or use this

Install MPlayer Media Player
    At some point you're probably going to want to play a QuickTime, AVI or ASF file so you'll want the MPlayer media player. Fortunately with the FreshRpms repositories it's also very easy to download and install. Once again there are conflicts between the Livna and FreshRpms repositories and you'll have to disable one of them.

# yum -y --disablerepo=livna install mplayer mplayer-skins mplayer-fonts
    # yum -y install mplayerplug-in

To prevent potential problems of updates in the Livna repository from messing up the mplayer packages add the following line highligted in bold to the file /etc/yum.repos.d/livna.repo :

gpgcheck=1