Relayhost?

Discussion in 'Installation/Configuration' started by wr19026, Jan 12, 2006.

1. wr19026

wr19026 New Member

Hi,

So now I have a working system that I can access from inside my own network as well :) Being a total noob it took me long enough to get here!

Now I need some advise:
    Outgoing mail is not a problem but incoming mail is. I just don't receive anything. So I looked up all possible solutions and came to the conclusion that it had to have something to do with DNS.

Turns out my ISP is blocking port 25. Which is fine as long as I can receive mail. Which I currently can't. They recommend that I set up mail DNS at NetworkSolutions where I have registered my domainname as follows:
    10 server.mydomain.dom
    20 mailrelay.myisp.dom

Now I was thinking, there is a field called "relayhost" in main.cf for Postfix as well so perhaps I should use that instead.

Any suggestions (and explanations why) as to which solution would be better?

My ISP actually wants me to use the "smarthost" option for Postfix. How would that impact my setup (if at all)?

Thanks in advance.

Last edited: Jan 12, 2006
  2. till

till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

The relayhost in postfix is for outgoing mail, not incoming.

I'am not familar with the smarthost option in postfix, but i think you can not host a real server when port 25 is blocked.

3. wr19026

wr19026 New Member

This is what my main.cf looks like after I reconfigured Postfix to Internet with smarthost:

root@server:~# more /etc/postfix/main.cf
    # See /usr/share/postfix/main.cf.dist for a commented, more complete version

smtpd_banner = $myhostname ESMTP $mail_name (Ubuntu)
    biff = no

# appending .domain is the MUA's job.
    append_dot_mydomain = no

# Uncomment the next line to generate "delayed mail" warnings
    #delay_warning_time = 4h

myhostname = server.mydomain.dom
    alias_maps = hash:/etc/aliases
    alias_database = hash:/etc/aliases
    myorigin = /etc/mailname