SATA Software RAID 1 on Linux

Discussion in 'Installation/Configuration' started by mphayesuk, Feb 16, 2006.

1. mphayesuk

mphayesuk Member HowtoForge Supporter

Ok this is a small guide to show what I did to make Software Raid 1 work on my Suse Server this should work on other versions of Linux.

1) Tip from Ryoken... make sure that your motherboard has had the latest bios patch applied this will help correct any syncing errors that you may get. Dont configure onboard raid

2) Start the install I am using Suse 9.3 as a 2.6 kernel will not work so using suse 10 32/64bit is a none starter unless you are a techie and decide to re-build the kernel to a 2.4. (I'm not that good with linux)

3) When it comes to partitioning the harddrives what you need to do is make them on your first hard drive but select "do not format" and select Linux Raid from the drop down list. So what I have is 2 x 200GB SATA Drives:

/sda1 = 199GB /sda2 = 1GB - both partitions set to do not format and file type is linux raid.

So I re-create that setup on the second hard drive.

3) Go to the Raid Option and select Create Raid, then select mirroring and then for the first raid put the two largest partitions in and make it / (root) and then create another raid and put the 2 1gb partitions in and make it a swap raid partition.

So what you should have is /mb0 as a 199GB Partition and /mb1 as a 1GB Swap Partition.

What you also need to do is install grub on both harddrives which is done (in suse) by clicking on the expert options on the summary screen and then clicking the relevent option button.

4) Complete the install using falkos excellent install guide or finish off the install as you planned to ect....

5) Now what you should be able to do to test is when the machine is off unplug one of the hard drives and then turn back on, you should find that Linux will boot as normal and when the hard drive is plugged back in raid will copy any data that is missing.