Server Setup Help Please

Discussion in 'Installation/Configuration' started by sapient, Oct 15, 2005.

1. sapient

sapient New Member

Ok, just want to mention right off the bat that I think that ISPConfig is going to be great as soon as I can actually get it to work :D . I have some experience in configuring nameservers but obviously not enough- becuase I have been having problems getting this server to resolve. Allow me to just spill as many details as I can and hope that you can help me out.

Debian setup following all tutorial steps- server1.forthecode.com, server2.forthecode.com.

Using cable internet access - behind a router (which I have been set and changed nearly every possible setting)- lan is comprised of server and personal pc's. I have set server out in DMZ, and have tried port-forwarding. Here is what I can get from www.dnsstuff.com:

I can access ISPConfig from local address 192.168.*.*:81... it works except I am experiencing the same problem as multiple others have had (images not displaying). I have setup A records for www, server1,

server seems to time out if I try to ping it or check for SOA records... what can I do to fix this frustrating problem :eek: (I feel like I am close to getting this working, just need a little shove).

2. falko

falko Super Moderator ISPConfig Developer

You have to use the same URL as in /home/admispconfig/ispconfig/config.inc.php to access your ISPConfig, then the images will display.

Do you try to ping/check from the internet? Might be a firewall problem. For DNS, you have to forward port 53 to your ISPConfig server to be able to make DNS lookups. Which ports do you have forwarded on your router to your ISPConfig box?

3. till

till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

Does your ISP maybe block some ports to prevent that his clients are hosting servers at home?

4. themachine

themachine ISPConfig Developer ISPConfig Developer

ISPs... bleh

Do you have your domain registered as its own name server?