site/vhost default charset (issue+walkaround)

Discussion in 'Installation/Configuration' started by jbonlinea, Nov 15, 2016.

1. jbonlinea

jbonlinea Member

Dear all
    As It's my first post here I would like to thank you for the support you've already given to me through your tuto ans posts. I'm new to IPSConfig, and quite a beginer in server administration, I'm doing my best and did quite a few search and try before posting so excuse me if this post wasn't needed

My config is detailled at the end of the post

I have two sites (or vhost should I say if I'm right) :
    Site1 is in php7 and needs UTF-8 --> everythnig is fine out of the box
    Site2 is in php5.6 and need ISO-8859-15 --> caracter encoding issues (php/db works)

Q1) server charset configuration
    I checked the headers sent by the server, they contain "Content-Typetext/html; charset=UTF-8"
    then I checked all the apache conf file but I've never found any "AddCharsetDefault" directive so the default setting "Off" should be taking over
    (the only one was commented in /etc/apache2/conf-enabeled/charset.conf)
    So why my header specifies a charset, namely UTF-8 ?
    How/where can I change it server wide ?
    (it seems I missed something here)

Q2) vhost charset configuration
    I've try to add "AddCharsetDefault ISO-8859-15" in /etc/apache2/site-enabeled/100-site2.mydomain.com.vhost
    as well as in all the damn conf file I found (while being very cautious to revert one change before doing an other)
    the result stay the same, my header specify UTF-8 ! why ?
    How/where can I change it vhost wide ?
    (again it seems I missed something)

Q3) .htacces as walkaround (not working)
    I tried to edit the .htacces file in the root folder of my site2 using this "IndexOptions +Charset=ISO-8859-15"
    found here : http://stackoverflow.com/questions/913869/how-to-change-the-default-encoding-to-utf-8-for-apache
    the result stay the same, my header specify UTF-8 !
    Why ?