Some experiences installing 18.04 on aws t3.micro

Discussion in 'Tips/Tricks/Mods' started by trondhuso, Mar 19, 2021.

1. trondhuso

trondhuso Member

I have followed the instructions on perfect server and I have some experiences I'd like to share:
    1) When installing Spamassassin remove the spamassassin from the install line. My experience is that the install hangs when buidling Spam Assassin.
    The command is originally:
    Code:
    apt-get -y install amavisd-new spamassassin clamav clamav-daemon unzip bzip2 arj nomarch lzop cabextract apt-listchanges libnet-ldap-perl libauthen-sasl-perl clamav-docs daemon libio-string-perl libio-socket-ssl-perl libnet-ident-perl zip libnet-dns-perl postgrey libdbd-mysql-perl
    Change this to:
    Code:
    apt-get -y install amavisd-new clamav clamav-daemon unzip bzip2 arj nomarch lzop cabextract apt-listchanges libnet-ldap-perl libauthen-sasl-perl clamav-docs daemon libio-string-perl libio-socket-ssl-perl libnet-ident-perl zip libnet-dns-perl postgrey libdbd-mysql-perl
    apt-get -y install spamassassin

2) Quota does not work on AWS.
    before you run the quota-command you have to install the linux-modules-extra-aws
    Code:
    apt install -y linux-modules-extra-aws
    Then you run these commands:
    Code:
    modprobe quota_v1
    modprobe quota_v2
    rm /quota.user && rm /quota.group
    quotacheck -avugm
    quotaon -avug

Feel free to add information to this thread

till and Jesse Norell like this.
  2. nhybgtvfr

nhybgtvfr Well-Known Member HowtoForge Supporter

firstly, especially if your installing everything on a standalone ispconfig instance, you'll find that a t3.micro is far too small. you're going to have services getting stopped with out-of-memory errors all the time. i'd recommend using at least small as the starting point.

you'll also find the performance better using the t4 instances, and also a bit cheaper if you use their own graviton processors, so the t4g instances.