SPAM / HAM address support for spam and good email

Discussion in 'Feature Requests' started by fbarcenas, Apr 26, 2016.

1. fbarcenas

fbarcenas Member

My old control panel(DTC by GPLHOST) used to automatically create a [email protected] and [email protected] so that if a user wanted to designate something as spam he would just forward the email to [email protected], and if the email was a good email but selected as SPAM you could email it to [email protected] to tell the server that this is not spam.

I miss that feature as users constantly ask how to signal SPAM or HAM(good mail) on the webmail. So there is currently no way for them to update spam settings without being the domain admin and going into the control panel and setting filters.

2. Jesse Norell

Jesse Norell ISPConfig Developer Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

I'm new to ISPConfig (coming from DTC as well), so certainly don't want to preempt any better answers from anyone else on what fits ISPConfig setups, but what comes to mind is using HAM/SPAM mail folders, so (some?) users specifically move/copy a message to one folder or the other to be trained.

In addition to the DTC-created ham/spam email addresses (which almost nobody uses, in my experience), we've been using dovecot-antispam to automatically train when people move mail into or out of a SPAM folder. It's simple, and is probably better than nothing, but our bayes/training does not work nearly as well as it could/I would like, so I'd like to consider a better setup.