Sub domains and ISPConfig3

Discussion in 'General' started by Tone Irene Andersen, Apr 15, 2015.

1. Tone Irene Andersen

Tone Irene Andersen New Member

Hi..

The process to add a subdomain to a domain already existing on ispconfig is very long and confusing expecially when it needs to be its own website.

I wonder why the devs for ISPconfig 3 have made it this way? Wouldn't it be better if it actually set up the dns records from the add subdomain and completely remove add vhost? or vise versa.

I am new to ISPconfig3, but i am liking this panel much more than i like cpanel. Cpanel have alot of functions that i hardly ever use and ispconfig3 does not.

Yours faithfully,

Tone Irene Andersen

gec likes this.
  2. till

till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

The process is absolutely easy and straight forward:

1) Click on nwe website.
    2) Enter the subdomain in the domain field. e.g. sub.yourdomain.com.
    3) Press save.

as you can see, it cant be shorter.

ISPConfig is a business controlpanel for ISP's while cpanel is more a toy for single servers. So while ispconfig can manage your whole server infrastructure cinsisting of dedicated web, mail, dns and db servers, cpanel is just for small single server systems. So while the assumption for cpanel is correct that there cant be other servers or that there cant be domains that are not a website on the local server, this assumption is not true for a ISP setup that ispconfig is made for. So combining dns and web makes no sense for a software that allows you to control your whole server infrastructure.

3. Tone Irene Andersen

Tone Irene Andersen New Member

Ok that makes sense, ive set my sub domain up as you have described above, but this is does not allow the domain to be accessed.