Upgrade Nightmare!

Discussion in 'Desktop Operation' started by jmf346, Dec 11, 2010.

1. jmf346

jmf346 New Member

Thanks in advance for any help! I’m running Ubuntu 10.10 x64 server with gnome desktop. The purpose of this machine is many. But mainly it's my home server for family photos, files, etc. It's (was) also my MythTV Backend / Frontend for my living room entertainment center. Last week I upgraded MythTV to 0.23 from 0.24. I had numerous dependency problems. In fact about a month prior I upgraded Ubuntu from 10.04 to 10.10, and I'm honestly not sure if all of my packages successfully upgraded. Then, like a fool - I decided I'd mess around with upgrading MythTV.

Well now, I can't even get the computer to boot properly and my wife is about ready to have my head! She wants to watch Christmas specials and Christmas movies that we have saved on the computer, but now nothing is available.

I'm a relative beginner to the Linux community, having just delved into this world about 14 months ago. My main problem is that I have no idea what went wrong and I don't even know where to begin to trouble shoot. I know that the problem began when I did "sudo apt-get upgrade" and answered yes to upgrade over 1,000 packages. I was having some trouble with some dependency issues on some of the video packages and was having some difficulty with having reliable video and audio with MythTV. Following a suggestion on a message board about moving past unmet dependencies I did "sudo apt-get upgrade -f" to force the upgrade. That seemed to get things moving forward, but I was soon met with grave disappointment... One of the 1,000 packages that we getting upgraded apparently did something with "dpkg-reconfig" or something. Admittedly, I wasn’t paying much attention unfortunealy. :( I got a blue/gray screen with a bunch of questions. I picked all of the recommended settings. I did notice that one of the questions something to do with the package "mdadm". (NOTE - I am running a softwar