Upgrade vs Fresh install vs Distro

Discussion in 'HOWTO-Related Questions' started by Riff, Jun 18, 2010.

1. Riff

Riff New Member

I've been using Fedora quite happily for maybe 6 months or so now, having moved from a year of Ubuntu.

As Fedora moves from 12 to 13, I've had some issues with drivers and kernels etc, largely because of my own inexperience I suspect but also a bit of a fuzzy border between the different versions.

I experienced problems with Ubuntu with upgrades too and I've generally found that a fresh install is inherently more stable than an upgrade - but the caveat there is the trouble one has to go to in a) setting everything up and b) backing up and restoring important and valuable data.

I'm also getting deeply into CentOS, because I've got some projects I want to get to grips with and stability is important. In fact if I could I'd migrate almost all but my games machine to CentOS, but I can't get CentOS to run the way my Fedora "Ultimate Desktop" does (having used the guide here.)

I'm fortunate in having 3 PCs, one running XP for games and online DJing, one for CentOS as a learning platform and this one currently running Fed 12. I'm not yet ready to get rid of XP - Games just don't run so well in Wine (I've tried, honest) and I have a good book on CentOS, so that's pretty solid too...

I'm a self-confessed Linux newbie - I've struggled to get to grips with the command line (getting there slowly) and I have big gaps in my knowledge but it's coming together. This machine has had problems all week with upgrades affecting my machine - giving resolution issues and kernel problems to name just a couple.