Wordpress Installation

Discussion in 'General' started by AndrewPienaar, May 19, 2020.

1. AndrewPienaar

AndrewPienaar New Member

Hi,

This is my first time using a site with ISPConfig 3. If a domain has an existing non WordPress wesbsite (written in PHP), and I use the ASP Installer to install WordPress. Will it overwrite the current site completely?

What is the correct way to install Wordpress on ISPConfig 3?

cheers,

2. till

till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

Don't use the APS installer for sites that contain a website. Install WordPress like this instead:

1) Create a database user and database for Wordpress in ISPConfig.
    2) Download the Wordpress archive to the folder where you want to install it and unpack it (or download it to your desktop, unpack it and then upload it by ftp).
    3) Open the URL of the Wordpress install in a browser and follow the instructions on the screen.

3. AndrewPienaar

AndrewPienaar New Member

4. AndrewPienaar

AndrewPienaar New Member

Hi,

Just to clarify, if I want to start the site from scratch. Do I still use the method you describe above or do I use the APS installer?

5. till

I would always install WordPress manually, the packages from APS project are not up to date anymore.

6. Th0m

Th0m ISPConfig Developer Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

I use this script:
    Code:
    read -p "Web folder: " webdir
    read -p "Client ID (only numbers): " clientid
    read -p "Web ID: " webid
    mkdir /$webdir/tmp-wp
    cd /$webdir/tmp-wp
    wget https://wordpress.org/latest.zip
    unzip latest.zip
    mv  ./wordpress/* ../
    cd ../
    mv index.html index-standard.html
    rm -r tmp-wp
    chown -R web$webid:client$clientid ./*
    When executed, it will ask for the webdir, clientid, and webid. If you would be installing Wordpress for client 1, web 2, you would do this:
    Web folder: /var/www/clients/client1/web2/web
    Client ID: 1
    Web ID: 2

7. Antonio Sanguigni