Xlib-xcb programming questions, interested in creating/collaborating on tutorial maybe

Discussion in 'Programming/Scripts' started by DeeDeeK, Mar 3, 2018.

1. DeeDeeK

DeeDeeK New Member

Hello. I'm new to HowtoForge and I really appreciate the tenor of most of the posts and simplicity of this site. I hope my post complies with the standards and guidelines!

Question #1: What's the absolute fastest way to draw pixel accurate, filled, solid color rectangles into a window or pixmap without delving into overcomplicated libraries?

I'm writing some graphics functions and I'd like to ONLY draw individual pixels or solid rectangles-nothing else-without having to get into some overly complicated library. Currently I'm using Xlib and xcb (#include Xlib-xcb.h) and simply call xcb_poly_fill_rectangle() and sometimes xcb_poly_point(). On my eight year old laptop with a 2nd gen i5, integrated graphics those calls fast enough to refresh the screen quickly if I've got < 200,000 rectangles. There's a very specific reason to use filled rectangles or points if the rectangles are only 1x1pixel. Any way to send a list of coordinates and have rectangles and points drawn faster than the xcb graphics primitives, which I can display in a window is what I'm after. Drawing with the CPU into shared memory pixmaps is slower, and I can't decipher the direct rendering interface, or even tell if it would be appropriate.