Zimbra to ISPConfig

Discussion in 'General' started by TonyG, Aug 11, 2020.

1. TonyG

TonyG Active Member

I've been running the Zimbra FOSS environment for a couple years. In terms of features and L&F, it's a really fine platform. But there are issues which I am noting here. I'm looking for a new solution, and so far I beleive ISPConfig most closely matches my needs.

What's wrong with Zimbra?
    The owner (Synacor) is not FOSS/community-friendly - they just don't get it. The docs are a disaster. While all email servers are tough to maintain, this one is very difficult because it's so cryptic. There are only a few people in the forum who really know the platform. Their personal dedication to the platform and community is admirable and Very appreciated. But there is not a critical mass of talent to allow an independent admin to keep flowing with frequent challenges.

Why do I find ISPConfig attractive?
    ISPConfig includes an email server only as part of a larger system with a lot of other great functionality.
    Some people favor Nginx over Apache, but I like Apache. All of my servers are running it. I'm familiar with it in a way that I am not familiar with Nginx. So I really appreciate that ISPConfig works with Apache.
    ISPConfig email-related functionality seems to support more features than other offerings. I'm not a feature-monger but I don't like too many fundamental limitations either.
    The source is PHP, very important to me because I spend a lot of time in PHP with WordPress and MantisBT.
    The API and extensibility make this package empowering, where Zimbra feels closed and restrictive.

Is ISPConfig a good replacement for Zimbra?
    I see very old threads here where people wanted to migrate email services from ISPConfig to Zimbra. That's fine for those who want more features. But it seems like this package is now much more robust in this area, and I'm not seeing recent threads about a move To Zimbra. Is that a valid observation?